News - Details
Title: Pro Consumidor of the Dominican Republic assumes Presidency of the Consumer Safety and Health Network
Summary: The National Institute for the Protection of Consumer Rights of the Dominican Republic (Pro Consumidor) officially assumed the Presidency of the Consumer safety and Health Network (CSHN) when it hosted the VI Plenary Session of the CSHN that took place on November 22, 2019 in the Dominican Republic.

The Executive Director of the National Institute for the Protection of Consumer Rights (Pro Consumidor), Dr. Anina Del Castillo, expressed, on behalf of the Dominican Republic, her enthusiasm for working with health and consumer protection authorities of the Hemisphere to advance the work and commitments of the CSHN and the SIAR.

During the VI Plenary, Indecopi of Peru - in its role as outgoing presidency - presented its 2018-2019 management report. The members of the Network also deliberated on the 2019-2020 Work Plan; which included ongoing efforts to guarantee the financial stability of the Network, the development of a communication strategy to promote the Network and the Inter-American Rapid Alert System (SIAR), the strengthening of cooperation with other rapid alert systems and more collaboration and lose with national consumer safety networks.

The new 2019-2020 Management Committee was also installed, which is composed of the Dominican Republic assuming the presidency, Peru and Uruguay as vice presidents, Colombia and Antigua and Barbuda as delegated members, and Canada and Costa Rica as collaborating members.
Publication Date: Dec 19, 2019
Country(ies): Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Canada, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, The Bahamas, Trinidad and Tobago, United States of America, Uruguay, Venezuela